Hockey Photography with a focus on college hockey and international ice hockey

Archive for the ‘Bemidji State University’ tag

2010-11 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award candidates

without comments

Quoted from the Award’s website:

Twenty NCAA® men’s ice hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as candidates today for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in hockey. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Jay Barriball, University of Minnesota

Chris Barton, Merrimack College

Stephane Boileau, Union College
Carter Camper, Miami University

Cory Conacher, Canisius College
Paul Dainton, University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Jeff Dimmen, University of Maine

Chay Genoway, University of North Dakota

Carl Hagelin, University of Michigan

Tanner House, University of Maine

Chris Kushneriuk, Robert Morris University
Jacques Lamoureux, Air Force Academy

Broc Little, Yale University

Bryant Molle, University of Alaska-Fairbanks

Kyle Ostrow, Denver University

Chase Polacek, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Matt Read, Bemidji State University

Zach Redmond, Ferris State University
Calle Ridderwall, University of Notre Dame

Evan Stephens, Dartmouth College


Prayers for Ben Kinne

without comments

Bemidji State University junior forward Ben Kinne suffered a stroke while working out on July 23, 2010. Bemidji Pioneer articleBSU confirmation


Written by Melissa Wade

July 26th, 2010 at 10:57 pm

New York Rangers Prospect Development Camp

without comments

2010 participants include:

Ryan Bourque (previous gallery)

Evgeny Grachev (previous gallery)

Danny Hobbs

Roman Horak (previous gallery)
Chris Kreider: previous galleries  one   two  three  four  five 

Tomas Kundratek

Ryan McDonagh (previous gallery)

Jyri Niemi (previous gallery)

Mikhail Pashnin

Derek Stepan (previous gallery)
Ethan Werek (previous gallery)
Andrew Yogan (previous gallery)
Chris McKelvie (previous gallery)

Matt Read


2010 Frozen Four Skills Challenge – Initial Participant list

without comments

The NCAA released the names of the initial seniors chosen to take part in the 2010 Frozen Four Skills Challenge in Detroit.

For the East:

Army: Owen Meyer
Boston College: Ben Smith* (previous galleries 1 2), Allie Thunstrom

Boston University: Melissa Anderson (previous galleries 1 2), Melissa Haber (previous galleries 1 2)

Cornell: Ben Scrivens
Dartmouth: Sarah Parsons
Harvard: Anna McDonald

New Hampshire: Bobby Butler, Kelly Paton (earlier blog galleries 1 2 3)
Oswego State: Neil Musselwhite
Quinnipiac: Brandon Wong
RIT: Jared DeMichiel
St. Lawrence: Brittony Chartier, Britni Smith
Yale: Sean Backman (earlier blog gallery)

For the West:

Air Force: Andrew Volkening

Bemidji State: Chris McKelvie**

Ferris State: Cody Chupp
Michigan: Steven Kampfer (earlier blog galleries 1 2)
Minnesota: Tony Lucia (earlier blog gallery), Kelly Blankenship
Minnesota State-Mankato: Zach Harrison, Ashley Young
Northern Michigan: Brian Stewart
Notre Dame: Kyle Lawson*** (earlier blog gallery)
Ohio State: Rachel Davis
Robert Morris: Chelsea Walkland
St. Cloud: Caitlin Hogan
St. Thomas: Lauren Bradel
Wayne State: Lindsey Park
Wisconsin: Kyla Sanders

Alternatives for the East include 3 from Union.

* will not participate due to playing in (winning) the National Championship the following day.**** Student-athletes lose eligibility on participation in the challenge.
** a sibling! Actually a twin of Zach McKelvie who participated in the 2009 Frozen Four Skills Challenge and younger brother of Ryan who is coaching in the NAHL.

*** unlikely to participate as his signing with Carolina was announced earlier today.
**** you can say I’m just being a fan there, which I definitely am, but it is also a future fact :-).


Boston Bruins and San Jose Sharks make more cuts

without comments

The Boston Bruins made more cuts on Sunday including:

Goaltenders Matt Dalton:


and Adam Courchaine who were both sent to the Providence Bruins (AHL)

and Jason Lawrence was released from his tryout:

The Sharks released six players – all sent to Worcester – including John McCarthy:

Nick Petrecki remains in San Jose.


Tomas Tatar was signed by the Detroit Red Wings who will now decide whether he plays for the Plymouth Whalers (OHL) or Grand Rapids (AHL) as the NHL contract releases him from his Slovakian Team.