Hockey Photography with a focus on college hockey and international ice hockey

Archive for the ‘team-Merrimack College’ tag

2010-11 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award candidates

without comments

Quoted from the Award’s website:

Twenty NCAA® men’s ice hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as candidates today for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in hockey. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Jay Barriball, University of Minnesota

Chris Barton, Merrimack College

Stephane Boileau, Union College
Carter Camper, Miami University

Cory Conacher, Canisius College
Paul Dainton, University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Jeff Dimmen, University of Maine

Chay Genoway, University of North Dakota

Carl Hagelin, University of Michigan

Tanner House, University of Maine

Chris Kushneriuk, Robert Morris University
Jacques Lamoureux, Air Force Academy

Broc Little, Yale University

Bryant Molle, University of Alaska-Fairbanks

Kyle Ostrow, Denver University

Chase Polacek, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Matt Read, Bemidji State University

Zach Redmond, Ferris State University
Calle Ridderwall, University of Notre Dame

Evan Stephens, Dartmouth College


Atlanta Thrashers Prospect Camp

without comments

The Atlanta Thrashers held their camp from July 8 – July 13, 2010.  Participants:

John Albert

Akim Aliu

Jimmy Bubnick
Alexander Burmistrov (previous gallery)
Patrice Cormier

Mike Forney

Ryan Garbutt
Carl Klingberg

Levko Koper
Nicklas Lasu (previous gallery)

Daultan Leveille
Jesse Martin

Danick Paquette
Jordan Samuels
Vinny Saponari (previous gallery)

Ivan Telegin

Ben Chiarot
Kendall McFaull
Julian Melchiori
Will O’Neill (previous galleries:  one     two)

Sebastien Owuya
Jody Pederson

Paul Postma
Zach Redmond
Cody Sol
Karl Stollery

Chris Carrozzi
Alex Kangas

Ed Pasquale


Edmonton Oilers Development Camp

without comments

The Edmonton Oilers development camp is being held July 6-9.  Participants:

Cameron Abney
Mike Connolly
Philippe Cornet
Drew Czerwonka
Jordan Eberle

Taylor Hall (previous gallery)
Curtis Hamilton (previous gallery)
Teemu Hartikainen

Connor Jones
Kellen Jones
Milan Kytnar

Anton Lander

Ryan Martindale
Magnus Pääjärvi-Svensson (previous gallery)
Kristians Pelss
Tyler Pitlick
Toni Rajala

Chris VandeVelde

Kyle Bigos

Jeremie Blain
Brandon Davidson
Troy Hesketh
Damon Kipp

Martin Marincin (previous gallery)
Jeff Petry

Tyler Bunz
Bryan Pitton
Olivier Roy



with one comment

Congratulations to UMass-Lowell River Hawk Carter Hutton – after getting to serve backup duties for a game with the Philadelphia Flyers while on an ATO, he has signed with the San Jose Sharks.  (previous blog gallery)

Great move by the NHL Players Association to rename the Pearson Award after Ted Lindsay.  The Ted Lindsay Award is the top award an individual NHL player can receive as it is for the “Most Outstanding Player” as voted on by the players.  By the way, Gordie “Mr. Hockey Union Buster” Howe does not have any major awards named after him. 

Nice story you’ve probably already seen – Brooks Laich stops to help a mother and daughter stuck on a bridge with a flat tire after Game 7 loss.

Maine Black Bear Will O’Neill started his birthday yesterday helping clean Alfond Arena – Youtube video from Maine.  (previous blog gallery)

Atlanta Thrashers article on Zach Bogosian (previous blog gallery)

Nice touch – at the end of this Maine cleaning video, you can see that they have the nameplates from former locker occupants in the back of each locker.  (And yes, I’m going through a bunch of saved URLs in no particular order.)

Stephane Da Costa will be playing for France at the Worlds (previous blog galleries 1   2)

Rookies Matt Duchene, Jimmy Howard and Tyler Myers are up for the Calder Trophy.


2010 Hockey East All-Star Teams

with 6 comments


Brian Gibbons, Boston College (previous blog galleries 1  2)

Gustav Nyquist, University of Maine (previous blog gallery)
Bobby Butler, University of New Hampshire (previous blog galleries  1  2)
Colby Cohen, Boston University (previous blog gallery)

Blake Kessel, University of New Hampshire

Surprised I hadn’t done a post including Blake before.  He is a sibling – younger brother of Phil (previous blog gallery) and older brother of Amanda who has committed to the University of Minnesota for next season.

Justin Braun, University of Massachusetts-Amherst (previous blog galleries  1  2)
Brian Foster, University of New Hampshire, University of New Hampshire (previous blog gallery)


Cam Atkinson, Boston College (previous blog gallery)

Stephane Da Costa, Merrimack College (previous blog galleries 1   2)
James Marcou, University of Massachusetts-Amherst (previous blog gallery)

Jeremy Dehner, University of Massachusetts-Lowell (previous blog gallery)
Jeff Dimmen, University of Maine (previous blog gallery)

Carter Hutton, University of Massachusetts-Lowell (previous blog gallery)

Honorable Mention

Carl Sneep, Boston College (previous blog gallery)

Mark Fayne, Providence College

Nick Bonino, Boston University (previous blog gallery)

Brian Flynn, University of Maine (previous blog galleries  1  2)
Casey Wellman, University of Massachusetts-Amherst (previous blog gallery)
Alex Beaudry, Providence College (previous blog gallery)